I have moved to Lufbra!

In February, I moved to the department of Computer Science at Loughborough University (called Lufbra or Lboro or other variants, in short) after spending more than three years at Queen’s University Belfast. I am pretty excited about the move and got a really nice welcome with the news of  the award of an EPSRC first grant in my first week here (more on that later). The department has a good mixture of systems and theory and, heartingly, sits in the School of Science (along with Maths and Physics, the right place I feel for CS – Djikstra would have it rather called Computing Science). I will work most closely with the Theory and Networks groups but, in fact, with anybody who’s willing to go to lunch or coffee with me (speaking of which, we have a nice communal and very active Nespresso machine)!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Though recent years and, let’s say, world events, have made me wary about news and rankings, this is the right time to brag about Lufbra – top 5  in the Guardian league tables, top 10 in complete University Guide and other rankings (more here), and #1 in student satisfaction rankings.  But what Lufbra is really legendary for is its sports (with alumni like Sebastian Coe and Paula Radcliffe) with it recently been crowned the best sports university in the world. Sports is everywhere on one of the largest closed campuses in the UK with many national and olympic facilities based here. Even more exciting for me is that the  English and Wales Cricket board national cricket performance centre is outside my window and also one of the two international standard cricket grounds on campus! We, at Computer Science have even graduated some test cricketers like Monty Panesar (nice article here on Monty’s story). There will be lot of nice cricket to watch from work over summer 😉

When I was a kid, I  wanted to be a Scientist and a Cricketer (let’s say, I have had moderate success in both ventures) – now, in my office, I’ll be a scientist and watch cricketers!

Author: amitabht

Lecturer, Loughborough University, England

1 thought on “I have moved to Lufbra!”

Leave a Reply

